BRC researchers and clinicians at Guy’s and St Thomas’ have been promoted as part of the 2019-20 Academic promotions in King’s College London’s Faculty of Life Sciences and Medicine.

Dr Vasa Curcin, Co-lead of our Data Analytics Cluster and  senior lecturer in Health Informatics at King’s College London has been promoted to Reader. Dr Curcin leads the Biomedical Informatics Group at King’s College London focusing on reproducibility solutions based on data provenance and embedding clinical trials into routine practice.

Dr Manu Shankar-Hari, NIHR clinician scientist, who is a consultant and reader in intensive care medicine at Guy’s and St Thomas’ and King’s College London respectively, has received a promotion to Professor. Dr Shankar-Hari’s primary research interest is sepsis. He is currently involved in our BRC’s work on COVID-19 biomarkers and treatment targets based on next-generation mass spectrometry. He is also leading a number of COVID-19 urgent health priority research studies including the convalescent plasma arm of the REMAP-Cap study.

Dr Claire Steves,  King’s College London’s clinical senior lecturer who is a consultant geriatrician at Guy’s and St Thomas’s and the deputy director (Clinical) for TwinsUK has also been recognised with a promotion to Reader.

Dr Ian Abbs, Chief Executive at Guy’s and St Thomas’, said: “I want to personally congratulate everyone who has been awarded a promotion in what has been a really challenging year. Now more than ever, we see that it is through research that we can improve care for our patients.

“We are incredibly proud of the research our staff do and the breadth of activity represented in this list is a great testament to the strength in depth we have here at Guy’s and St Thomas’.”

The full list of promotions for Guy’s and St Thomas’ clincians and BRC researchers is below.

Name Promoted To
Dr Stephen Black Professor
Dr Gerald Carr-White Professor
Dr Amedeo Chiribiri Professor
Dr Richard Leach Professor
Dr Kin Sheng Lim Professor
Dr Barbara McGowan Professor
Dr Ronak Rajani Professor
Dr Manu Shankar-Hari Professor
Dr Anita Banerjee Reader
Dr Jonathan Birns Reader
Dr Helen Brough Reader
Dr Luigi Camporota Reader
Dr Ben Challacombe Reader
Dr Antonia Cronin Reader
Dr Vasa Curcin Reader
Dr Hiva Fassih Reader
Dr Simon Goldenberg Reader
Dr Janaka Karalliedde Reader
Dr Arun Sahai Reader
Dr Debashis Sarker Reader
Dr Ahmad Sayasneh Reader
Dr Daisuke Nonaka Reader
Dr Jude Oben Reader