Our corporate governance

Our corporate governance infrastructure has been designed to ensure the effective and compliant operation of our BRC. Above all, the management and advisory boards outlined below have been established to safeguard our patients, volunteers and members of staff.

Clinical Research Facility Review Board

The Clinical Research Facility Review Board reviews all applications from investigators wishing to undertake research within the Clinical Research Facilities (CRF) and manages the governance of the three CRFs.

The board has three components:

  • the imaging Clinical Research Facility Review Board
  • the adult Clinical Research Facility Review Board
  • the paediatric Clinical Research Facility Review Board

Board members

  • Professor Phil Chowienczyk – (Chair) CRF Director
  • Professor James Spicer – Deputy CRF Director (Chair in the absence of the CRF Director)
  • Dr Stephen Barnett – CRF Operations Manager
  • Dr Gabriella Passacquale – CRF Research Physician
  • Paula Darroch – St Thomas’ CRF Nurse Manager
  • James Dobbyn – Guy’s CRF Nurse Manager
  • Paul Cross – BRC Quality Assurance Manager
  • Helen Critchley – KHP-CTO Director / Quality Manager
  • Mays Jawad – R&D Governance Manager
  • Graham Roper – Patient Representative / Lay Member x2
  • Polly Needs – CRF Data Analyst
  • Natasha Ajraam – BRC Cluster 1 Manager or representative
  • Dr Laura Turner – BRC Cluster 2 Manager or representative

Biomedical Research Centre Board

Our directors have a wealth of experience of in both clinical and research settings and oversee delivery of our strategic plan.

External Scientific Advisory Board

The External Scientific Advisory Board (ESAB) is tasked with advising the Director of our NIHR Biomedical Research Centre on the scientific strategy of the centre and its implementation. Members include eminent national and international researchers in the field of translational medicine.

Dr Diana Dunstan OBE (ESAB chair) – Retired Head of Research Management Group, Medical Research Council

Professor David Adams – Head of the School of Immunity and Infection, University of Birmingham and Director of NIHR BRU in Liver Disease and Centre for Liver Research

Professor Dame Carol Black – Department of Health’s Expert Advisor on Health and Work; past-President of the Royal College of Physicians, of the Academy of Medical Royal Colleges, and of the British Lung Foundation; Professor of Rheumatalogy at the Royal Free London NHS Foundation Trust

Professor Veronica van Heyningen CBE – Retired Head of Medical Genetics at the MRC Genetics Unit; Hon Professor of UCL Institute of Ophthalmology and University of Edinburgh

Professor John Isaacs – Institute Director of Wilson Horne Immunotherapy Centre at Newcastle University

Professor David Jones – Dean of Translational Medicine at Newscastle University; NIHR National Lead for academic training and chair of the NIHR trainees forum

Professor Sir Alex Markham – Professor of Medicine at the University of Leeds; Director of Molecular Medicine Institute at St James’ University Hospital; chair of OSCHR Translational Medicine Board and former Chief Executive of Cancer Research UK

Professor Andrew Morris – Director of the Biomedical Research Institute at University of Dundee; Scottish Informatics Programme and Scotland’s Chief Scientist

Professor Sir Michael Rawlins – Chairman of the National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE) until April 2013

Professor Laurence Turka – Director of Transplantation Biology Research Center at Harvard University; Professor of Surgery; and Deputy Director of Immune Tolerance Network Biomarkers and Discover